eggnog cheesecake bars

The strangest thing about this recipe is that I’m neither a fan of eggnog, nor cheesecake.  It’s not that I’m completely repulsed by either one of them, I just don’t eat or drink them.  I’d be hard pressed to find cheesecake on a dessert menu and be even remotely tempted.  During the holidays, I’d much rather drink mulled wine than eggnog.  Maybe it’s their names:  cake made of cheese?  Nog made of eggs?  I don’t know.  They both generally fly under my radar and I don’t feel less for rarely, if ever, experiencing either.

So, why, you ask, Eggnog Cheesecake Bars?  Good question!  I guess the answer comes down to basics:  I fell for a pretty picture in a recipe!  The ingredient list may contain things I don’t normally eat, but paired with good photography…well, anything is possible.  Luckily, the pretty picture and the finished product went hand in hand because we were going to dinner at a friend’s house and I’d offered to bring dessert.  Nothing like trying something new only hours before you’re expected to show up with something edible!  But these were delicious.  The recipe calls for sprinkling with nutmeg (classic eggnog topping), but I opted for some grated chocolate, instead.  Either would be great.

Take that from someone who doesn’t care for cheesecake…or eggnog.  Enjoy!!

2012-12-22

Eggnog Cheesecake Bars

Ingredients:

  • 1 stick butter, unsalted
  • 2 c crushed chocolate graham cracker crumbs (I used Chocolate Teddy Grahams)
  • 8 oz cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 c granulated sugar
  • 1 Tbsp flour
  • 1/2 c eggnog
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 c semi-sweet chocolate morsels
  • nutmeg to sprinkle on top

Crust:

Mix 1 stick of melted butter with 2 cups crushed chocolate graham crumbs. Press into a greased 9 x 13 pan and bake for 8 min at 350°.

Filling:

Combine cream cheese, sugar, flour, eggnog, and eggs  and mix well.  Add chocolate chips.  Pour over crust and spread evenly.

Bake at 350° for 35 minutes.

Cool completely and sprinkle with nutmeg before serving.

DSC_4841

DSC_4842

5 responses

  1. They were sooooo yummy! And, truly, I don’t care for either eggnog or cheesecake. But I’ll definitely be making these again. Super easy to prepare, too. Hope you try them. Let me know what you think if you do. Thanks for the comment. I appreciate it!!

    Lisa

Leave a Reply

