not-so-quick and dirty ice cream cake

I usually do all my cooking and baking from scratch.  But my niece was coming into town over Thanksgiving, at which time we’d also be celebrating her 24th birthday.  When I asked her what kind of cake she wanted, she immediately said, “Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream Cake.”  So, the first thing I did was pick up the phone and call TCBY, which no longer makes ice cream cakes, but they’d be happy to slap some mint chip fro-yo in a chocolate graham cracker crust for me.  Yeah.  No thanks.

Baskin Robbins never even picked up the phone.

Sweet Republic offered a gourmet style mint chip ice cream cake with real mint leaves.  Elegant, but a bit too frou-frou.

So I decided to make my own, all while up to my eyeballs in pumpkin pie and stuffing and homemade cranberry sauce and sweet potatoes and….well, you get the point.  There was simply no time to bake from scratch.  So I caved!  I bought a box of Betty Crocker cake mix and set out to create my own semi-homemade loveliness for a sweet, young woman who deserves better, but knew it was made with every ounce of love I could muster.  And she loved it!!!

This cake was so easy to make I really don’t know why you’d spend a bunch of money on store-bought (outside of Moomer’s in Traverse City, Michigan, which is worth it’s weight in gold).  It was my first attempt at an ice cream cake and I wouldn’t hesitate to use this recipe again. My only suggestion would be to assemble all the layers and freeze them before frosting.  That way you won’t have as much trouble with the ice cream melting while you frost.  It was delicious.  Time consuming, but absolutely delicious (for a box).  Enjoy!!

Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream Cake

Ingredients:

  • 1 box Betty Crocker Super Moist cake mix (I used Double Fudge)
  • Eggs, water, and oil per directions on the box

Filling:

  • 1 half-gallon Dreyer’s Slow Churned Mint Chocolate Chip ice cream, slightly softened 

Frosting:

  • 1 pint heavy whipping cream
  • 2 Tbsp confectioner’s sugar (or, to taste)
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract

Preparations:

Step 1:  Heat oven to 350°F (325°F for dark or nonstick pans). Grease bottoms only of two 9-inch round cake pans; line bottoms with waxed paper. Make cake batter as directed on box. Spoon evenly into pans.

Step 2:  Bake as directed on box for 9-inch rounds. Cool in pans 10 minutes. Remove from pans to cooling racks. Remove waxed paper. Cool completely, about 30 minutes.

Step 3:  Line 9-inch round cake pan with foil. Spoon and spread ice cream evenly in pan. Cover with foil; freeze until completely frozen, about 2 hours.

Step 4:  On serving plate, place 1 cake layer with rounded side down. Remove ice cream from pan; peel off foil. Place on top of cake. Top with remaining cake layer, rounded side up.

Step 5:  In medium bowl, beat whipping cream, powdered sugar and food color on high-speed until stiff peaks form. Frost side and top of cake with whipped cream. Freeze about 2 hours or until firm. Let stand at room temperature 10 minutes before serving.

One response

Leave a Reply

