lettuce wraps with turkey and quinoa

I have a longstanding fascination with food wrapped in food; whether it be lettuce or tortilla.  You might have noticed that from the previous post.  It partially stems from my never-ending quest to serve healthy, nutritious, and flavorful meals to my family.  But it’s also a battle of wills.  I’m bound and determined to finally serve and eat a wrap that doesn’t end up falling apart all over my plate or, worse, my lap.  Be forewarned.  These are no different, although you can reduce the collapse of the wrap by using the smaller, more pliable inner leaves of the lettuce head.

Since I’m a huge fan of quinoa, this recipe caught my eye while I was browsing cookbooks at the library used book sale.  Since I’m out of town and didn’t want to purchase something I’d have to stuff into my suitcase on the return trip, I snapped a couple of pictures of recipes with my Blackberry.  This was one of them.  I loved the combination of ingredients, the use of whole grains and lean proteins, and the combination of flavors and textures.

These wraps are truly delicious and are even more so the second day.  Also, they’re extremely nutritious, low-calorie, low-fat, and high in protein and fiber.  One serving contains three lettuce leaves each filled with approximately 1/4 cup of the quinoa mixture.  The original recipe provided a nutritional analysis of less than 250 calories, 12 grams of protein, and only 9 grams of fat in a single serving.  Personally, I couldn’t eat three of them, but it’s nice to know if you’re able to indulge in a full serving, you won’t break the bank nutritionally.  Enjoy!

Lettuce Wraps w/Turkey and Quinoa

Ingredients

  • 12 Boston lettuce leafs
  • 2 ½ cups quinoa, cooked (approx 1 cup, uncooked)
  • 1 cup ground turkey 93/7, cooked
  • ¼ cup pine nuts
  • 1/8 cup fresh lemon juice
  • ¼ cup green onions, chopped
  • ¼ cup carrots, shredded
  • ¼ cup dried cranberries
  • Hoisin sauce

Instructions

  1. Place 3 lettuce leafs on each plate.
  2. Mix together quinoa, ground turkey, pine nuts, green onion, carrot, lemon juice and dried cranberries.
  3. Add 2 ounces of the mixture onto the lettuce leafs.
  4. Drizzle equal amounts of Hoisin sauce onto each cup.
  5. Garnish with fresh chopped green onion.

Leave a Reply

