dried cherry-orange scones

I needed a treat for my Wednesday morning Bible Study and had this recipe stashed away.   I’m not sure where I found the original recipe, which actually called for dried cranberries, but I had dried cherries on hand.  They’re a perfect substitute for the cranberry with just the right amount of tartness.  Because scones aren’t notoriously sweet, anyway (and, combined with tart cherries), I served them with a Morello Cherry fruit spread.  These are great with a cup of coffee or tea in the morning, or serve a basket on a brunch buffet.

Oh, and one other thing, I was feeling a little lazy when I baked these.  The recipe is for a traditional scone, rolled and cut.  But I turned them into a drop biscuit, scooping a large tablespoon of dough into a crude ball.  They baked up very rustic and pretty, so I’d say they’re delish in any form.  Enjoy!

Dried Cherry-Orange Scones

Ingredients:

  • 2 c sifted, all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 Tbsp sugar
  • 1 Tbsp orange zest
  • 1/2 c butter, cut up
  • 2/3 c buttermilk
  • 1 c dried cherries (or use fresh/frozen–not so tart if you cut them in half)
  • 1 Tbsp milk
  • 1 Tbsp sugar

Directions:

Combine first six ingredients; cut in butter with pastry blender until mixture is crumbly. Add buttermilk and dried cranberries, stirring just until moistened. Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface and knead 5 or 6 times. Pat into an 8-inch circle. Cut into 8 wedges and place 1 inch apart on a lightly greased cookie sheet (I use a baking stone). Brush with milk and sprinkle with 1 T. sugar (I use raw cane sugar). Bake at 425-degrees for 15 minutes or until scones are golden brown.

You can also find this recipe, and others, linked at Tasty Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

