extreme brownie cookies

After a (sort of) failed attempt at making some Blondies last week; they were described as “too sweet” by my five-year old, I thought I’d stick to something more mainstream this go-round.  I’ve never been a big fan of the Blondie, anyway, being a bit of a traditionalist when it comes to brownies.
.
They should be chocolate.  Right?  Right!
.
While reading comments from my last post, I came across a blogger who chronicles her adventures in the kitchen at a blog called A Sprinkling of Sugar.  I like to surf through the blogs of people who comment.  Share the love, so to speak.  Anyway, the first recipe I came across on her blogs was a brownie/cookie called, appropriately a Brownie Cookie.  Was that providence, or what?
.
Before I give you my adapted recipe, I’ll give you a head’s up on a couple of things.  First, I left out the extra chocolate chunks because I didn’t want to be accused of concocting another “too sweet” treat.  That was a good move because, without it, they’re sweet enough.  It’s really a brownie, after all.  Next, the original recipe (which had been adapted from a cookbook), didn’t suggest chilling the batter.  But it’s very much like cake batter when you get it mixed.  It’s too watery to handle, and it spreads out too quickly on the baking sheet.  So, chill it.  It’s much easier to work with after it sets up.  Last, these babies are like the perfect marriage of cookie and brownie, but be forewarned: every single one of them is like a brownie from the edge of the pan.  There are no centers.  The edges of my cookies were much chewier than the middles, of course, but that’s not a bad thing.  Because a crispy, chewier edge, like the corner brownie, just begs for dunking.  Grab a couple of cookies, a glass of milk, and enjoy!
 
 
Extreme Brownie Cookies
  
Ingredients:
  • 12 oz. semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 c unsalted butter, softened
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 c light brown sugar
  • 1/2 c granulated sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/4 c all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 4 oz German Sweet Chocolate, chopped

Directions:

  • Preheat  oven to 350°
  • Line baking sheets with parchment paper.
  • In the top of a double boiler set over very hot water, melt the chocolate chips and butter. Allow it to cool.
  • Using an electric mixer, beat the eggs and vanilla in a mixing bowl until frothy. Slowly add the sugar and beat until the mixture ribbons off the beaters. Add the melted chocolate mixture. Stir to combine.
  • Sift the dry ingredients together. Add to the chocolate mixture and stir to combine. Fold in the chocolate chunks (optional), then cover the mixing bowl with plastic wrap and refrigerate until the dough is well chilled (and more cookie-dough-like).
  • Drop spoonfuls of batter onto a baking sheet and bake for 12 minutes.  The tops of the cookies should look dry and cracked.
  • Allow to cool for a minute on the baking sheet, then remove to cooling rack.
  • Pour large glass of ice, cold milk and enjoy!

4 responses

  1. Hi Karen – to the best of my recollection, I think it made about 3 dozen cookies. I made mine a little larger, so if you can use more self-control than I did, you’ll get more. Thanks for the visit and the question. Let me know if you like them. 🙂

    Lisa

Leave a Reply

