panko-crusted pork chops with napa salad

I am all for quick and dirty at meal time, because I don’t always have time for complex recipes at dinner. Kat is usually tugging at my pant leg wanting to me to know she’s hungry…for the 37th time, and if I’m only 5 ingredients into a recipe with 11 more ingredients to go, well,  there will be plenty of unhappiness to spread around.  Also, Kat likes to help me in the kitchen, so streamlined recipes are best.

This recipe came from marthastewart.com.  I’ve never been a big MS fan, but suddenly it seems I’m trying more and more of her recipes and, you know what?  The woman (or her able assistants) can’t seen to get it wrong.  Everything is good.  This one was not only good, but super fast and really delicious.

Also, there was one thing about this recipe I almost passed on; the sauce.  You see, I despise ketchup with every fiber of my being.  I see no use for it and the fact I even  had a bottle in the refrigerator amazes me.  At the last minute I re-read the reviews of the recipe and it seemed the sauce got high marks. It’s an absolute must with not a hint of ketchup taste.  Oh, yeah, and the salad?  I’d make it any day of the week for any meal.  It’s simple and easy and full of flavor.

Enough, already.  On to the recipe:

Ingredients

Serves 4.

  • 1/2 small napa cabbage, thinly sliced crosswise
  • 1 tablespoon rice vinegar
  • Coarse salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 cup panko (Japanese breadcrumbs)
  • 4 boneless pork loin chops (6 ounces each), trimmed of fat
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup ketchup
  • 2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 teaspoon light-brown sugar
  • Make salad: In a medium bowl, combine cabbage and vinegar. Season with salt and pepper; toss to combine. Set aside.
  • Place flour, egg, and panko, each in separate shallow bowls; season each with salt and pepper. Dip pork chops into flour and then egg, shaking off excess. Dip into panko, pressing to adhere.
  • In a large skillet, heat oil over medium heat. Add pork, and cook until browned and cooked through, 4 to 6 minutes per side. Transfer to a paper-towel-lined plate.
  • Meanwhile, in a small bowl, stir together ketchup, Worcestershire, sugar, and 1/2 teaspoon pepper; season with salt, and stir to combine. Thinly slice pork chops crosswise, and serve with Napa salad and sauce on the side.

Leave a Reply

