teriyaki salmon

I originally found this recipe while scouring some boards on Pinterest and decided it sounded so good I would actually end my boycott of cooking salmon at home.  For the most part, I like salmon…when it’s done perfectly by a 5 star chef or my good friend, Vicki, back home in Michigan.  Aside from that, I’ve always been really skeptical of my own abilities to do it well.  Generally, I consider myself a pretty good cook, but salmon has always intimidated me.  I don’t know if it’s because it’s a strongly flavored fish, or because it’s too expensive to risk screwing up.  Either way, I’ve always shied away from it – despite all proven health benefits of eating more salmon.

The teriyaki is what intrigued me about this recipe.  It seemed like a flavor that would stand up well to the strong salmon flavor I’ve always feared.  And it do so beautifully.  The finished product was as delicious as it was pretty!  You’ll see, though, I used steaks instead of the suggested fillets, which was my mistake.  The steaks were much thicker and required extra care in baking, and they also had a lot more bones.  Next time I’ll definitely use the fillets.  Enjoy!

Teriyaki Salmon
adapted from My Father’s Daughter, by Gwenyth Paltrow (via Milk & Mode)

  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons dry white wine
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 3 tablespoons honey
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1 teaspoon peeled and finely grated ginger
  • 2 sprigs fresh cilantro
  • squeeze of fresh lemon juice
  • 4 6-ounce salmon fillets
  • 1 tablespoon finely minced fresh chives, for serving

Combine the soy sauce, white wine, sugar, honey, water, ginger, lemon juice, and cilantro in a small saucepan over high heat. Bring to a boil, then turn the heat to low and simmer about 2 minutes. Remove the saucepan from the heat and allow the sauce to cool until it’s just warm to the touch. Pour into a plastic freezer bag and add the salmon. Turn the bag a few times to coat the salmon, and marinate in the fridge for at least an hour (can also be marinated overnight)

To cook the salmon, preheat the broiler. Line a baking sheet with foil, spray lightly with cooking spray, and arrange the salmon in a single layer with whatever sauce adheres to it. Broil 6-8 minutes, or until it flakes easily with a fork and is just cooked through. While it’s cooking, strain the extra sauce into a clean saucepan, bring to a boil, and reduce until thick and syrupy.

To serve, drizzle the cooked salmon with some of the extra sauce and a sprinkle of chives.

2 responses

    • Thanks!! I needed the confidence booster with the salmon. I’m glad it turned out…now I won’t be so leery to try it again. I would use the fillets next time. Fewer bones (I think?), and smaller portion sizes. These steaks were ginormous!

Leave a Reply

