crispy baked kale chips

I’m not a chip eater so much.  While I keep them on hand (Sun Chips or Veggie Crisps), I don’t think I’ve bought a bag of true blue, greasy potato chips in a long, long time.  Doritos and Cheetos?  Never.  But, then, I’ve always been pretty health conscious and if there’s one snack food diametrically opposed to a healthy lifestyle, it’s chips.

I’d read a number of food blogs over the last year touting the savory deliciousness of baked kale, but I only started cooking with kale in the last 6 months, or so.  Rummaging through the crisper in the fridge before then, you’d have been hard pressed to find a bunch of kale.  I have a 5-year-old.  Kale is a tough sell.

Kale is considered to be a highly nutritious vegetable with powerful antioxidant properties.  It’s very high in beta carotene, Vit K, Vit C, and is pretty rich in calcium, too.  Also, studies have shown kale is also a source of indole-3=carbinol, a chemical which boosts DNA repair in cells and appears to block the growth of cancer cells.  It’s a bona fide superfood.

So I’ve been incorporating kale into recipes more often (you should, too), and Monday I realized I had a few stalks left over and no imminent plans to use them.  Since I only had about 30 minutes to work with, crispy baked kale chips was the logical choice.

If you have less-than-adventurous eaters in your house, I suspect they’ll balk at this.  Admittedly, the crisps have a seaweed-like appearance.  But if they’ll take leap of faith, I think they’ll be pleasantly surprised.  And I’d dare them to eat just one.  Enjoy!

  • 1 bunch kale
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • sea salt, to taste
  • Preheat an oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Line a non insulated cookie sheet with parchment paper.
  • With a knife or kitchen shears carefully remove the leaves from the thick stems and tear into bite size pieces. Wash and thoroughly dry kale with a salad spinner. Drizzle kale with olive oil and sprinkle with sea salt.
  • Bake until the edges brown but are not burnt, 10 to 15 minutes (mine cooked for exactly 10 minutes).

2 responses

Leave a Reply

